News and Media Updates

Please click on a headline to expand the story to read.

Statement on Municipal Primary Election Results

Democratic Party energized headed into 2019 Municipal Election

NEW ALBANY, May 7, 2019 – Floyd County Democratic Chair Adam Dickey released the following statement following the results of Tuesday’s Primary Election:   
"On behalf of our party, we would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to the voters in today’s municipal primary election as well as our municipal primary candidates for their willingness to serve our community. We would also like to thank our poll workers and election officials for their hard work and dedication throughout this primary election.  

 “As Democrats, we share a deep belief that each of us have the responsibility to do what we can to serve our community and to make it a better place in which to live. Under Democratic leadership, New Albany and Georgetown have grown and prospered with strong, quality parks; critical infrastructure improvements; and public safety enhancements. We have stood against discrimination, empowered economic development, and revitalized struggling areas of our community.

Our candidates are qualified and ready to serve on the first day in office. They show-up and will work full-time for our citizens, are fiscally responsible, and are ready to see good things get done for our future. We look forward to the General Election this November and earning the votes of our fellow citizens. “  



Editors Note: In addition to selecting our nominees for the 2019 Municipal Election, the Democratic Party also out performed Republicans in Floyd County with 75% casting Democratic Ballots in New Albany and Georgetown! For a full breakdown of the vote, follow this link to the Co. Clerk's Summary. Here are our 2019 Municipal Democratic Nominees:

City of New Albany
Mayor: Jeff Gahan
City Clerk: Vicki Glotzbach
City Council At-Large: Jason Applegate
City Council At-Large: Sam Charbonneau
City Council At-Large: Christina Estill
City Council District 1: Jennie Collier
City Council District 2: Bob Caesar
City Council District 3: Greg Phipps
City Council District 4: Pat McLaughlin
City Council District 5: Matthew Nash
City Council District 6: Lisa Chandler

Town of Georgetown
Town Board District 1: Everett Pullen
Town Board District 2: Kathy Haller
Town Board District 3: Michelle (Shelly) Trent

Adam Dickey